THING: Tango West Concert

What talent!! I LOVE this style of music! It’s mysterious, enchanting, romantic and flirtatious! The different instruments blend so well together!
The piano, violin, accordion (I’m a huge fan of the accordion) bass, and guitar!! The mixture of cultures into a music style is really cool!

One of things that was said about one of the songs I really liked: that it’s

“not so much about the steps but more about the connection”

Isn’t that like life and all other meaningful things? We can go through life taking all the right steps, but is it really changing and shaping our heart? Are we letting the joys of life really into our hearts? We need to learn the steps and also let it help us to grow and improve!

Okay back to the Tango!!

Tango is Passion
Tango is Confidence

Another lesson we can apply to life! Do things with all your heart and believe in yourself and others! Be confident!

I started Latin dancing when I was in my early 20’s and there are different dance styles and dance positions/holds. This hold caught my attention because it wasn’t a typical ballroom tango type of hold it was like when you side hug someone and then you grasp your other hands, I thought it was pretty cool!

Here is a video so you can enjoy some of the wonderful music that my Argentine husband and I heard last night –

And here is another video, this time with Tango dancers!

UPDATED:  Q&A Interview from Ian Camp, Bass player of Tango West!

Ian Camp
Q: Where are you from?
A: I was born and raised in the Salt Lake Valley (Murray, Utah).
Q: How old were you when you started to study the bass?
A: I took up the bass guitar at age 15, and began with the upright or double bass (an instrument with many names!) shortly after I graduated from the University of Utah at age 26.
Q: What made you choose the bass over other instruments?
A: My first instrument was the drum set, which I began in middle school at age 13. I received about three months of formal drumming lessons before my parents noticed a dip in my school grades and decided to pull the plug! By then I had already purchased a used drum set, and so I continued to practice and teach myself – much to the displeasure of some of my TV-watching family members! At age 14, my best friend lent me a classical guitar, and so I began to learn simple pop songs by ear. Noticing my new-found guitar interest, my parents gifted me a copy of “Parkening Plays Bach” for Christmas that year, and so I began picking out these difficult classical guitar pieces by ear, which was followed by three months of formal guitar lessons the following summer.
Like so many bassists, taking up that instrument was more of a practical necessity than a choice over other instruments. The world seems full of guitarists and drummers, but every band needs a bassist, and so, while continuing with drums and guitar, I also took up the bass guitar in order to fill that role in the bands I formed with friends in junior high and high school. Though the bass is often considered a less glamorous instrument, I have really come to love filling the musical role that it occupies, which is to lay the harmonic foundation, as well as to play a key part in establishing the rhythm, or “groove” – that part of the music that makes people want to get up and move their bodies!
I became an upright bassist in a trial by fire, when I agreed to perform the instrument for a production of “Forever Plaid,” even though I didn’t own an upright bass at the time and had never performed on the instrument before. Despite being more or less self-taught on all of my instruments (I never really took a formal bass lesson), I continue to perform professionally on drums, guitar, bass – and even some occasional banjo. My latest musical endeavor is singing, and so now I am regularly performing a Lawrence Welk-style, classic hits, vocal variety act.
One final comment on instrument choice: The great thing about both bass and drums is that they are an integral part of nearly every music genre, so choosing these instruments is more likely to result in music-making opportunities. When people see me lugging my giant bass around, I often comment, “I should have played flute!” but I usually follow that comment with, “but then I’d just be sitting at home waiting for the phone to ring!”
Q: How did you get involved in Tango West?
A: I’ve been performing in an instrumental funk/pop group called “Kaleidoscope Trio” with two exceptional gentlemen from Argentina: Max Plaza (keys) and Fede Selis (drums). Max was already working with Tango West and invited me to join.
Q: What is your favorite style/genre of music? Favorite musicians?
A: I think there is good to be found in nearly every genre of music, so I am a fan of most every style, including most forms of pop music, but I tend to gravitate more toward instrumental music like jazz and classical. Jazz is probably my favorite, if I have to name one, and I think that’s because jazz has the unique ability to be fun, light-hearted, and intellectually stimulating all at the same time. I admire many musicians, so I will name just one of my very favorites, which is Tom Waits.
Q: How often do you play your bass?
A: Every day, if I can make time for it.
Q: You are also a part of ArtSound Live Music, how did that come about?
A: In 2005 I realized that I was performing so many different styles of music, and with so many different musicians, that I could advertise the ability to provide just about any live music option a person could request; so I decided to start a professional musician service. I settled on the name “ArtSound” with the idea that music is the art of sound, and the sound of art. I found a very gifted visual artist/designer from France named Alexis DeForge to help me design a website, and since then I’ve provided live music to countless events of all kinds – everything from the typical weddings and corporate events to gallery openings, marriage proposals, city festivals, private anniversary concerts, even funerals. ArtSound has done events in nearly every conceivable venue along the Wasatch Front, and in other cities like Denver, Phoenix, and Los Angeles.
Q: Who/what inspired you to be a musician?
All the credit here must go to my musician father, Steve Camp. He gave me the music bug by inspiration, example, and heredity. Some of my fondest childhood memories include being lulled to sleep by my dad practicing classical pieces on the family piano late into the night. He has also performed music professionally throughout his life, and when I was a child he would often host band rehearsals at our home, where the musicians would sometimes leave their instruments, leaving me with an array of musical toys to play with.
Q: Where would you like to see your music business in the future?
A: Music runs through my veins, so I doubt I will ever give it up entirely, but I completed law school in 2014, and finished a book-length work of constitutional theory in 2016, so at the moment I am hoping to slow down the music to pursue teaching and academics.
Q: What advice do you have for young musicians?
A: That’s a tough one. If passion for music burns in your soul, like it does in mine, then music is probably in your destiny no matter what you aim to do. There are many, however, who yearn for a life devoted to music, and yet sometimes even great talent and hard work are not enough to overcome what I often perceive as a general lack of valuing music in society. I consider myself very blessed just to scrape by on a career of full-time performance, and many of my colleagues are able to make it work by combining performance with teaching. In the end, I would say: always do the most right thing, and if you are religious, look to God for inspiration and direction.
UPDATE: 
Q: Where/when will you be performing next?
A: You can see me performing with the Dave Bowen Orchestra nearly every Friday and Saturday night from 7 to 10 pm in the main lobby of the Grand America Hotel. It’s free and open to the public, with a full-service dinner menu, so it makes for a nice night out.
Wow, what a great Q&A!
Thank you Ian!
You can check out his website here: http://www.artsoundmusic.com/

Leave a Reply

